Measure a Year: 2011

There were so many things I wanted to document here before the end of the year.  I ended up getting sick on my birthday and was sick until mid-December and couldn’t function.  Then the holidays snuck up on me and they were overwhelming but good.  I just didn’t get in everything in I wanted to.

Now it is 2012 and I had the most perfect New Years Eve with some very dear friends.  If every new year for the rest of my life started this way, I wouldn’t complain.

I am not used to having a life on New Years Eve and normally I stay home and make a post with a playlist of music that shaped me over the last 365 days. It’s almost four days later, but here we are.  Better late than never, right?  Usually I write about each song individually, however the majority of the year was a struggle that I just don’t want to focus on.  I’ve been doing great in the mindset of forgiving myself and forgiving and loving anyone who hurts me.  Life has been a constant reminder that it’s just too short and all that matters is love.  The time spent focused on pain and in the darkness just takes away from everything you can be now – in the present moment – in the light.

Today when I told one of my best friends that I was struggling with writing about some of these songs, she said something to me that moved me to tears:  “The past shapes who we are but we don’t need to take it with us.”

She’s right.  It will always be a part of me, but it’s okay to continue to heal.  There’s no reason to go back to that dark place and self-inflict myself with emotional pain.  One thing about me, I never regret.  I know things happen in the way that God has meant for me, but I always feel I could have done something better or differently.  I’ve changed so much that I can feel my own strength.

I think that’s what you’ll get here in most of these songs — strength, hope, light, love and life — in some form.  I hope you go buy the songs or full albums on iTunes.

JANUARY:  Florence + the Machine – “Rabbit Heart (Raise it Up)”
FEBRUARY: Chord Overstreet & Dianna Agron – “(I’ve Had) The Time of My Life”
MARCH:  Sara Bareilles – “Let The Rain”
APRIL:  Jennifer Nettles Band – “A Place For You”
MAY:  Adele – “Make You Feel My Love”
JUNE:  Susan Egan – “All Things in Time”
JULY:  Zooey Deschanel & M. Ward – “So Long”
AUGUST:  Sugarland – “Stand Back Up”
SEPTEMBER:  Kristin Chenoweth – “Higher Love”
OCTOBER:  Ryan Adams – “Kindness”
NOVEMBER:  Anika Noni Rose – “Kites and Children”
DECEMBER:  She & Him – “Silver Bells”
ZIP FILE.  (Includes all 12 songs in .m4a format and cover art.)

Leave a Reply

