A Thankful Thursday.

I slept through the parade this morning, my only Thanksgiving tradition.  I guess that happens when a person has been sick for over a week.  It also adds to the unconventionality of this whole year.

Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays and it really has nothing to do with the food.  I am thankful for the blessings in my life every day.  It’s nice that there’s a day for it, reminds everyone not to take the little things for granted, though it should be a daily thing for everyone.  Today I am trying hard to stay in tune with these moments and not hang on to past years and people I’ve lost or miss.  I’m attempting to make peace with the fact that they will always be with me whether they want to be or not.

Saying that this year has been a rollercoaster is an understatement but I am a better person for it.  I’ve been constantly reminded of my own strength.  I am still here – living, breathing and loving which is a feat in itself.  Life is fragile and precious.  I am thankful I have family that took me in and allows me to live in a nook in their living room.  I love my nook.  I am thankful for the genuine friends in my life that love me unconditionally and haven’t walked away. I am thankful for my little sister, my person, my wife, my Jillybean, my Westies and my Easties who have become my constants.  I am thankful for my nieces and nephews who make my cup of joy overflow on a daily basis and their parents who allow me to love them.  I am thankful I have a kitty that snuggles with me every day.  I am thankful for music and the arts that feed my soul.  I am thankful for my faith which shows me daily that there’s always a reason to believe in something.  I am thankful I am blessed enough to know and love my earth angels and all of the angels that watch over me from above.  I am most thankful for this life.  Thank you, God.  Thank you.

Leave a Reply

