For Baby Zoey.

Dear Zoey:  We never met in person, but you will always be in my heart.  You resonated so much with me because I was once like you – I was three months premature – and I fought hard too.  I’ve always had a soft spot for souls with that kind of fight in them, and from the moment I heard your story you became my hero.  My heart swells when I think of the time you spent with the world, and the people you brought together.  You taught us that every breath we take is worth fighting for.  You taught us that as cliche as it sounds, love is the most important thing we can possess and share with others, it’s not cliche p it’s the honest truth.  I am grateful that you got to spend the time you did with your wonderful family – I know they will always hold you close in their hearts.  We all will.  You were a light in all of our lives and now you are a “borrowed angel” for everyone who loved you.  When things get hard now, I will think of you and keep going.  You’ve changed me.  You’ve changed the world.  Forever.  Rest in peace, sweet girl.  Love, Kimmie

Earlier this year I made a new friend, Kim.  I thought Kim was awesome and was one of those people I wished would be my friend but I never thought I’d be cool enough to be friends with this girl.  Imagine my surprise when Kim and I started talking – we shared a very special weekend together with special people and a lot of love that changed a lot of lives.  I felt blessed to have spent that time appreciating real-life magical moments.  It’s something I will remember for the rest of my life.

In getting to know Kim, I quickly learned of her niece, Zoey, and I was immediately affected by her story.  Zoey was born at 23 weeks – or 4 months premature.  The first thing she did was take a breath on her own and for months she fought hard through struggles and surgeries and machines.  She showed strength that most grown adults are too scared to discover in their lifetimes.  When she progressed we cheered her on, and when it was rough, we cheered even harder.

On Sunday, Zoey gave up her fight and peacefully returned home to Heaven.  I honestly believe she did what she came here to do and I am grateful to have been a witness to her spirit from afar.

In just a few days, it will be my 30th birthday.  People keep asking me what I want, and I could never come up with an answer.  All I want is to be surrounded in love and to share love.  I am going to get my wish starting tomorrow – but the sharing of love is something I need you all to help with.  Zoey’s family has chosen to cremate her, and they need financial assistance for her cremation and memorial services.  If you feel the need to do something for me for my birthday, please consider donating to Zoey’s memorial.  Every little bit helps.

If you are interested you can send a donation via papal to kimtasmic@gmail.com with “Zoey” in the message subject line.  If you want to learn more about Zoey you can visit babyzoey.tumblr.com

If you took the time to read this, thank you.  If you took the time to think of Zoey and pray for her family, thank you.  If you took the time to donate, thank you.  I love all of you.

Zoey, this song is for you.

They shine a little brighter, they feel a little more
They touch your life in ways no one has ever done before
They love a little stronger, they live to give their best
They make our lives so blessed, so why do they go so soon?
The ones with souls so beautiful, I heard someone say

There must be borrowed angels, here in this life
They come along, into this world, and make this world bright
But they can’t stay forever ’cause they’re heaven sent
And sometimes, heaven needs them back again

They reach a little deeper, they see what’s in your soul
And even when they leave you know, you’ll never let them go
The world’s a little richer, just ’cause they came along
Their love goes on and on, so why do they go so soon?
The ones with souls so beautiful, I heard someone say

There must be borrowed angels, here in this life
They come along, into this world, and make this world bright
They can’t stay forever, ’cause they’re heaven sent
And sometimes, heaven needs them back again

How else can you explain why they’re here and not here to stay?
I believe there must be, must be

Borrowed angels, here in this life
They come along, into this world, and make this world bright
They can’t stay forever, ’cause there heaven sent
And sometimes heaven needs them back again

And sometimes heaven needs them back again

Leave a Reply

